Posted on Leave a comment

Coming to (soccer) blows

What began with 32 teams from across the globe converging upon the Southern Hemisphere for a chance at claiming soccer’s most coveted prize has been whittled down to four – meaning either Spain, Sweden, Australia or England will leave Stadium Australia, Sydney, with the FIFA Women’s World Cup when it concludes on Sunday, Aug. 20.

The two-time defending champion Americans (2015 and 2019) fell to Sweden on penalties in round 16 of match play – marking their earliest exit in the tournament’s history.

The U.S. women’s national team made it to the semi-finals in each of the eight previous tournaments, winning four times.

– Hannah Van Sickle, The Arizona 100

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *